I bought that ‘pro-age’ lipstick you’ve seen all over social media: Color the World; here’s my review

This post may contain affiliate links, which means Mean Magazine could receive a commission if you click through. Rest assured we recommend only products that we love. Thank you for supporting us!

Color the World lipstick

Photo via Color the WorldWhen Instagram’s algorithm fed me Color the World lipstick, it knew what it was doing. Obviously it knows I’m over 50 and that I’ve purchased other makeup and weirdly-seamed velvet socks and that reusable wax food-wrap stuff through the social media service. It doesn’t know my varying degrees of satisfaction with each, but I don’t think it cares.  

Many things about the Color the Wold ad drew me in, not the least of which was the do-gooder angle. Each shade is associated with a specific cause, from combating anxiety and depression to ‘books for Africa’ to brain injury to sea turtles. Then there was the recyclable paper dispensers, the focus on older women, plus the product is vegan and hand-poured. 

I also really loved the color as it appeared in the ad. It reminded me of MAC’s Twig (formerly known as Twiggy) that I wore back in the day, but with the increased amount of pink I’d always wished for. To top it all off, a discount was offered, so, attempting to reign in my impulses, I purchased a single tube in the Flawless color. 

Color the world lipstick

Strong Women Pack, $43, down from $63

When it arrived in the mail, my 7-year-old daughter opened the package and unbeknownst to me ran outside to play apparently thinking it was for her, or that it was O.K. for her to play with it, or she was just hoping I wouldn’t notice. Who knows what goes on in that kid’s brain. When I finally got my hands on it, the lipstick was broken off at the base and nowhere to be found. 

There was a tiny amount of product in the recessed area where the lipstick attaches to the dispenser, which I scooped out with my fingernail and smeared on my lips. I liked the color and consistency enough to continue with that struggle for the next week. When there was no more to be scraped, and after a stern conversation with my daughter about not opening my packages, I ordered another tube of Flawless, again at the $14 price. 

The ability to simply apply the lipstick from the tube instead of digging it out with my fingernail felt luxurious. I also continued to enjoy the color. I find it very moisturizing, but not so slippery that it moves around and ends up in the creases around my lips. It’s pleasantly shiny, I find, and I’ve received many compliments on the color. 

It’s definitely not a long-wearing stain, but it does last long enough to keep me satisfied, and it does slightly stain my lips so that after I eat a hint of color remains. And it doesn’t dry out my lips, which every single other lipstick I’ve ever worn totally does. Even gloss does that, why?

Anyway, I ordered another color, Independent, which has a bit more purple than Flawless. I’m loving that one enough that I’m currently poised with the Neutrals Bundle, which is marked down 30 percent, in my cart. 

I found some quite negative reviews on Makeup Alley, and to be honest I was surprised! It scores just 2.1 out of 5. Most of the complaints seem to be about the colors. 

I will say that both the Flawless and Independent shades seems to appear brighter outside. The Color the World website also has a color guide you might want to check out if you are tempted to buy. Check it out and let us know how you make out if you try it!

P.S. This post is not sponsored, and I did not receive free product.

20 Comments

  1. Maggie
    February 22, 2021 / 11:10 am

    Your review was great! I have spent the last 2 hours to order a lipstick. It accepts Pay Pal but wanted the number! I’ve had it for years and I don’t know the p/w. So I was going to use visa – same problem so I am done with Color My World, anything.

  2. Cora Nash
    March 18, 2021 / 9:16 pm

    where do I buy this product
    C

  3. Cora Nash
    March 18, 2021 / 9:17 pm

    where do I buy this products

  4. JENNY JUENGER
    April 3, 2021 / 4:24 am

    I am of a darker shade skin color. I receive a variety of pink shades. I repeat I am of darker skin color. I called the company as requested. I was informed that they had no darker colors that would fit my skin color. I was promised darker shades as I suggested. I informed the company that we of darker skin color would by a product that would fit our skin color if they had them. The company is advertising darker shades now. I called the company. I was informed that they do not do trade in. I also explained the promise I was given by email and verbally. I was informed that I would have to buy them outright once again. Well not in this lifetime.

  5. Linda
    April 27, 2021 / 11:02 am

    So glad you liked your purchase. However, I had a totally different reaction to my latest purchase. The color & texture are terrible! I wish I could either exchange or get a refund! But I can’t seem to find anything about returns!

  6. Patricia Moore
    May 23, 2021 / 8:15 pm

    I love the lipstick. I have gotten it in several colors. Some I would not order again because the color is not quite right for me. But this can be said about most things you order online where color is involved. I will not be using any other lipsticks. This lipstick feels great, the color lasts and it doesn’t feather like other lipsticks.

  7. Betty
    June 24, 2021 / 7:02 pm

    Why has the price for three lipsticks gone from $43.00 to $93.00? Sorry I won’t be getting them again.

  8. F. Miller
    July 8, 2021 / 1:37 pm

    I purchased this lipstick from Facebook posts and reviews which I do not ordinarily do but decided to try. Ordered the color Foxy which I thought was more neutral with a hint of pink , but when I received it, it was way too pink for me. I love the color pink but not this one. So I asked about getting another replacement which I was told would not happen. Then they offered $3.00 off a higher price than I paid originally. What??? So I asked for the original sales price to try another color and they would not do that. Needless to say I will never purchase anything else from them. I wanted to give this review because of the poor customer service. Need to have some provision to assist customers that have issues. . It’s difficult to pick a color from a picture. Lesson learned. Think twice before you order. Not a good idea.

  9. Ginger
    October 5, 2021 / 2:31 pm

    I love the stuff!! Moisturizing and creamy, but not to the point it’s bleeds off your lips. My favorite color is empowered. A neutral with some pink/mauve tones. I’ve bought several tubes. I will agree with color issues. Several tubes have been passed along to friends and family that liked colors I didn’t.

  10. ME
    November 17, 2021 / 1:41 pm

    Almost everything I’ve tried from them is great. They have tons of choices , and new colors often.

  11. Carol Freeman
    December 9, 2021 / 2:50 am

    I have been using Dreamer for two years – and I love it!

  12. Bonnie I.
    February 3, 2022 / 1:08 pm

    I have liked the lipsticks a lot, I often mix them, using Chocolate Mousse to darken other colors to work with my olive skin tone. I purchased quite a few colors. The only issue I have had is that Chocolate Mousse seems to dry out in the cardboard tube, but Color the World replaced them the first time I complained. I think it would be better if they coated the tube with a film to stop the drying effect that the air appears to cause. They originally had free shipping, now there is a $75 minimum which I don’t like.

  13. Nory
    March 13, 2022 / 7:53 am

    I have purchased 9 of the lipsticks, most were great, but the darker colors are dryer and don’t go on smoothly without primer. I had one turn bad, tried to contact the company and got no where, done with them, customer service and the ability to reach them is equally important to the product

  14. March 21, 2022 / 8:02 pm

    I ordered the three combo pak, the first order I received was the wrong order, the company immediately sent the correct order, however the shade of the lipsticks were not the colors in the picture! I contacted the company and just like the other replies, they do not take returns and offered me a $3.00 credit for my next order, very disappointing! Live and learn who not to do business with!

  15. Jeane R.
    March 21, 2022 / 8:04 pm

    I ordered the three combo pak, the first order I received was the wrong order, the company immediately sent the correct order, however the shade of the lipsticks were not the colors in the picture! I contacted the company and just like the other replies, they do not take returns and offered me a $3.00 credit for my next order, very disappointing! Live and learn who not to do business with!

  16. Ginny
    April 9, 2022 / 8:00 am

    Don’t be fooled here; their customer service is awful! The shade I chose was mis-represented so badly and when I called them for an exchange, their reply ‘so sad-too bad’ stuck with it! And btw, they no longer offer the shade I chose! Tells you something about their integrity – someone’s probably making these products in their own kitchen!

  17. Elaine Pasternak
    May 26, 2022 / 11:58 am

    The color Flawless is my favorite color. How do I reach you. My last trio was fine except the Flawless color. It had a rancid smell and taste. Would like a replacement.

  18. Miller
    May 30, 2022 / 11:23 am

    I love the way the lipstick feels and that it has more staying power than most that are vegan and cruelty free (very important to me). However, after using their color analysis and buying 4 tubes, I’m still having trouble finding the right color for me. I think their recommendations are way too broad. (Really … a color that’s good for everyone? Sorry, but that’s not possible.) I just ordered my second tube of Cashmere because I like the pale neutral and because I can use it to tone down some of the other colors that I have purchased. Still wishing for my perfect pink, especially since it’s summer again! Btw, I am an interior decorator and specialist in color for the home, as well as someone who has studied color by season (starting with the now ancient Color Me Beautiful) and a person’s best colors according to skin tone, hair colors, and eye colors (yes, those are all multiples) through Fashion Feng Shui. If Color the World could nail this, they would have happier customers.

  19. Mary Wells
    June 13, 2022 / 11:45 pm

    I, too, caved to the Facebook ad. I did check the color guide before ordering. My skin tone and color palette call for cool colors. My first order was the Strong Women Pack which included Empowered, Flawless, and Independent. I was a little surprised at the colors but discovered each one looked good on me. To my delight the lipstick lived up to the hype. It went on my lips like silk and did not bleed into my lip lines. And even though they’re a matte finish they don’t look dry or feel dry. I have to reapply it once or twice a day but I’m okay with that. I don’t like lip stains. I’ve ordered several other colors since then and love every one of them. I’ve recommended them to several of my friends who also love them. Using the color guide is key to getting shades that suit your skin tone. It’s an added bonus that the tubes are recyclable and part of the proceeds go to worthy causes. These are now the only lipsticks I use.

  20. July 3, 2022 / 10:42 am

    I purchased my first lipstick from them last week. I ordered ‘refined’ color was to be a pink. As soon as I put it on my lips went orange. I, for what reason I do not know, wrote to them and told them how disappointed I was. Of course, there has been no response of any kind. Very disappointed in the lack of customer service.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.